“Zzyzx Rd.” by Stone Sour

Back in December 2013, I noted that I wanted to change directions as far as my writing was concerned. I had some things to wrap up and see to completion, and now that everything’s as well taken care of as possible I believe I can step away for a while without anyone having a nervous breakdown. I will be reachable on social media until May 5th. If you need me for anything, catch me before then. After Cinco de Mayo, I will go completely dark, and do not know when I will return. During this time, I will not be posting reviews or updates on what I’m reading, nor will I be doing promos for any of my published material. All that can wait until my return. I’ll post an official “Goodbye For Now” before I vanish on May 6th that will detail what you can expect from me when I return.

I think this song covers well enough the last several months of my life on the internet, and it just so happens to start with Z, so I can close out my A to Z Blogging Challenge with it as well. Don’t you just love it when stuff comes together all wrapped up nice and neat with a bow on top? I know I do.

Until next time…

E.

“Zzyzx Rd.” by Stone Sour

I don’t know how else to put this
It’s taken me so long to do this
I’m falling asleep and I can’t see straight
My muscles feel like a melee
My body’s curled in a U-shape
I put on my best but I’m still afraid

Propped up by lies and promises
Saving my place as life forgets
Maybe its time I saw the world

I’m only here for a while
But patience is not my style
And I’m so tired that I gotta go

What am I supposed to hide now?
What am I suppose to do?
Did you really think I wouldn’t see this through

Tell me I should stick around for you
Tell me I could have it all
I’m still too tired to care and I gotta go

I get to go home in one week
But I leaving home in three weeks
They throw me a bone just to pick me dry

I’m following suit and directions
I crawl up inside for protection
I’m told what to do and I don’t know why

I’m over existing in limbo
I’m over the myths and placebos
I don’t really mind if I just fade away

I’m ready to live with my family
I’m ready to die in obscurity
‘Cause I’m so tired that I gotta go

Where am I supposed to hide now?
What am I suppose to do?
You still don’t think I’m going see this through

Tell me I’m a part of history
Tell me I can have it all
I’m still to tired to care and I gotta go

Oh yeah
Oh yeah yeah yeah yeah.

Still too tired to care and I gotta go
Still too tired to care and I gotta go
Still too tired to care and I gotta go

Yeah, yeah

Still to tired to care and I gotta go

Go home

Still to tired to care and I gotta go

Yeah yeah

Still to tired to care and I gotta go

2 comments

  1. thanks for posting here so I could read about your decision. I’m happy that you’ve made a decision that suits you and your life and your writing world. I know it’s been a messy room of worms lately and that isn’t healthy or conducive to writing concentration.

    I will miss you, dear Edward, so I do hope that you will email me at some point to tell me how your writing is going. Please don’t lose touch with us altogether, even if you want to drop the social (some might say less-than-social) media stuff.

    And I’m not above asking you, too, to visit my blog every once in awhile to read a flash fiction. I always appreciate your comments.

    Thank goodness for Mr. KD Rush introducing you to us. My life is richer for knowing you, Edward. Many hugs.

Leave a Reply

