Ruminating On: Steer Manure

You may use the expletive in place of steer manure if you see fit for the duration of this post. You’re welcome.

Ah, steer manure. I’m full of it. You’re full of it. Our family, friends, acquaintances and even our politics and religions are full of it. So much so, that sometimes, we feel like cranberry farmers wading through the cesspool of life just to find the good hidden in the bad.

I’m going to make this short today, because I’m in steer manure so deep my teeth are turning brown. What I would like to see is a rationing of said steer manure. Maybe a statute that states one must only use steer manure on holiday and while attending family reunions. Steer manure is best used during times when surrounded by throngs of people that you would like to impress, but do not see, or interact with on a daily basis. These “strangers” are less apt to see through the steer manure that steadily pours forth from you like a tapped keg because they do not know, nor do they care, that steer manure is your legal tender of choice.

Steer manure has a place in society; don’t get me wrong. We feed our children a steady diet of steer manure with tidbits like, “Because I said so,” and “When I was your age.” The latter is steer manure because there is no example included and weren’t we all taught to lead by example? The former is steer manure because, though you were once technically your child’s age, it was a completely different age and your point is irrelevant. But this pile of excrement is needed. Why? So that our children learn early that this world is unfair, biased and filled to the brim with monkeys collecting steer manure in their brain buckets. I will forever wish that my children do not have to deal with that fact, but it’s an eventuality that I will try and prepare them for.

In closing, I’m tired of steer manure and would like less of it. Period. The problem is, there’s so much of it, that people can’t help but spread it around.

I wash my hands of this crap.

E.

7 thoughts on “Ruminating On: Steer Manure

  1. I agree E. We fil children’s brains with steer crap all the time. Some of it is necessary to protect them until a certain age. Mostly it is what it is. Crap. I try to be as honest as possible to the little ones and explain things in a way they will understand, but this can back fire too. When I was a child my puppy was ill and I was told he’d been taken to the dog hospital to get better. I swear I believed that steer crap for about five years before it dawned on me my puppy was never coming back! Maybe I was just the dumbest kid. Maybe I had blind faith in what my mum told me was the only truth. Either way I was gutted! It doesn’t change either when we grow up. I always smelling s**t from the bull. And it goes over the top of my wellies as I wade through the steer crap of life. Enough said. 😉

    1. That’s a tragic tale, but one many can learn from. I surmise you would have been okay after a short period of time had they told you up front. Finding out all that time later, must’ve been hard.

      Thanks for dropping by, Audrey. Love seeing you in the comments.

      E.

      1. Hi E. I feel like I need to add my my last two pennies worth to your blog. I agree with Aniko that you are not a steer manure sort of guy. That’s why I have always valued your opinion and advice. You have been a great support to me in bringing me out of my shell with a few other dear friends I have made on social networking. However back to the subject of steer crap, people can ‘assume’ that a person is full of it when they don’t personally know that person in real life. And vice versa. However, that’s just tough steer crap if you ask me. Everyone has a story, everyone has problems, everyone has good days and bad days. The biggest pile of steer crap is when people judge others when though know sweet F A about them really. Someone may come across as weak or strong depending on another’s perspective. But that’s all it is their perspective. Last snippet of info about me: I was confined to a wheel chair after my illness. I couldn’t walk, remember, amongst other things. But now I can. I fought the hardest battle of my life and won. Yey me! I don’t want sympathy or praise or anything else for that matter. I’m just trying to make a point. We never know another persons life. So we must try to be kind to all. And anyone who thinks they know what another thinks feels, without finding out if they are happy or sad or thinks they are in some angst ridden bubble are full of the biggest pile of steer manure you are ever going to find. They should dig themselves out of their own crap before judging others for theirs. That is all.

  2. It is difficult to not spew gobbets of steer manure every time we speak. The major difficulty, for me at least, is trying to speak the truth without hurting someone’s feelings. I struggle with writing book reviews, often because I want to point out flaws (sometimes what I feel are very big flaws), but I don’t want to crush someone. The balance between manure and compassion is a tough one to find. Thanks for calling all of us out on this one, E.

    -aniko

    1. You are one of a select few who I find contain little steer manure. Sure, you probably have your fair share, but you deal with it elegantly. Me? I spew forth every chance I can.

      Thanks for the mentions on twitter. As always, I appreciate the support.

      E.

      P.S. If you’re interested in reading my debut novel, Bay’s End, it’s $.99. See, I can’t help but spread the manure 😉

      1. I do have plenty of of steer manure of my own. I just don’t like to share. 😉 Selfish elegance!

        Despite your protestations to the contrary, you don’t seem to be prone to spewing steer manure, either. Your posts state your opinions, without shying away from saying tough things about touchy subjects. You’re brave, not manure-y. The fact that you even recognize that all of us have a tendency to pile things higher and deeper means that you’re paying attention, and that is the only proven method to avoiding the piles.

        I just got my copy of Bay’s End. I appreciate the reminder. My mental To Read list gets cluttered, but my Kindle keeps all my literary goodies in a neat little electronic wonderland.

        -aniko

  3. Aniko, thanks for your support as always!

    Audrey, you couldn’t be more on point.

    Steer manure is a way of life. We can only use our own in a positive way to fertilize growth and acceptance.

    E.

Comments are closed.