The Beginning.

Day One: 400lbs

For those of you that have read today’s blog over at Ruminating On. I have some updates:

First: Over the course of the past two weeks, I have only had two glasses of soda (down from a two-liter a day) and have replaced every other beverage with water. I did this to prove to myself that I could do “healthy” if I wanted to. I do have a cup of coffee on occasion with cream and sugar, but usually it’s Green or Earl Grey tea. I will start weening myself off all caffeine in another two weeks.

Second: I just finished my first in-home yoga session using a beginners chart I found online until my videos get here. These were VERY basic positions, but my muscles are burning. I should have known this would happen given my inactivity over the course of the past five years. Still, I’m so relaxed. Physically, I would liken this to drinking tequila without the drunk part. I feel warm, fuzzy, content.

Third: I’m not on a diet. I will continue eating as per usual. I feeling if I tackle everything at once, I am bound to fail. Once I lay off the caffeine, I plan on cutting salt from my diet. Then, on to watching my carb and calorie intake.

I will keep everyone updated on my successes and my failures, alike.

E.

14 thoughts on “The Beginning.

  1. Given that I can directly relate to your story and probably in the same situation that you are in, I’m wishing you well on this endeavor. I will also tell you that switching to water is probably one of the single best first changes to make. I have drinking water almost to exclusivity (and also because of the nature of my job, I need something to drink all the time) and dude, it really helps. Clears the skin, and helps to flush out alot of toxins. I’m no where close to where I need to be, but you know, baby steps. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Cutting back to just water has been an amazing first tactic. I feel lighter and have more energy. It’s striking how quickly it took effect, too. I think it was the second or third day when I noticed a difference. Other than having to pee every hour on the hour, I now love water. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      E.

  2. You sir, are an inspiration on every level. The only liquids I’ve consumed in the past (ten years?) have been soda, tea, and the occasional beer, which I really can’t stand the taste of.

    Starting tomorrow I’ll slowly start replacing the soda with water. At 5’11 and 257lbs I have a ways to go. Thanks for thinking healthy and putting it on the menu for the rest of us. I’ve been looking for an excuse this past year to lose weight. Now I feel like I’m not alone. I’ll let you know how it’s going on my end from time to time as well.

    Thanks again bro.

    1. Gonna be kinda hard taking over the world if there’s six feet of earth laying on top of us, so I’m glad you’re joining me, KD. You’re great company to have, brother.

      E.

  3. Damn! It’s a freaking epidemic! I’ve set my meter on my blog for a fifty pound goal. Looks like we both took the plunge on the same day.

    You and I are starting to think WAY too much alike. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Me? I’m concentrating on drinking LOTS of water, increasing my protein intake, and drastically decreasing my carbs and sugars. That lets me continue to eat until I’m full, but puts the right kinds of fuel into the engine. Also walking with my wife and the furbabies every evening. I’ve done well with this strategy in the past, but because it seemed to work so well, and was relatively easy, I always backslid. I always figured, “hell, if it;s this easy, I can do it anytime.”

    Now I’m older, and NOTHING comes that easy any more. So it’s time for a change.

    Here’s to all of us losing weight, and getting healthier. Hell, maybe I’ll even get back into my martial arts training once I lose some of the lard.

    1. At least you only have to lose a toddler. I’m trying to get rid of Donnie Wahlberg in this piece. LOL

      Glad to have you along. The winds of change are stirring. After all is said and done, we go’n be a pack of smexy ass writtin’ folk!

      Just to clarify, “smexy” = Smart and Sexy.

      1. I’ve only CHOSEN to lose a toddler. Once I lose that fifty, I’ll still be overweight, but I’ll be in a better position to judge where I need to be. I am currently 100 lbs over what I weighed when I got married more than 25 years ago. However, I was a bit underweight at that point. If I had to guess, I think losing the first fifty will probably get me within 20 or 25 lbs of where I want to be. But like I said, I need to chop off the first 50 before I worry about anything more.

        Here’s to us losers. May we lose BIG! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments are closed.