LABB: Day Ten

Day Ten: 388lbs

9/29/2012: Week Two begins tomorrow and so far I’ve lost a medium sized cat. Twelve pounds in almost as many days. Now, before any of you congratulate me, I will have you know that I can lose five pounds walking fifty yards to the mailbox. When you’re as big as I am, twelve pounds isn’t much and is normally just water weight. I’m not discouraged by that fact, just bringing everyone up to speed.

I am shooting for a pound a day for right now, but will be happy with a pound every three or four days. I understand the weight will come off slower the closer to my goal I become. When that happens I will reevaluate my goals and change them according to necessity.

I’m still only drinking water. I had one eight ounce glass of regular coke that was a little over half full (around five to six ounces to be exact) a few days ago and couldn’t finish it. The syrup was just too sweet. I’ve never been so happy to find myself disliking something in my entire life. And not to hide anything from you, but I consider black coffee and unsweet tea to be like water as well. (I live in the south where you have to make sure you tell someone you want your tea unsweet or you get watered down pancake syrup). Aside from caffeine and flavor, coffee and tea basically are just water. In other words, I’m not drinking anything that can turn into fat.

Yoga is still a thing, but I’m waiting on a certain someone to send me a mixtape of sorts for meditation purposes. (You know who you are. No pressure) 😉 I’m also waiting on my DDPyoga DVDs to arrive. Until then, I’m stuck with the starter stuff.

Next week I start my slow trek to quitting caffeine. This one scares me. So far, my mood has been awesome. I’m happy and more lively than I’ve been since high school. But I’m also still ingesting caffeine. I will say this: If I find myself turning to food because of my mood swings, I will go back to caffeine quick, fast, and in a hurry.

Come November 1st, I’m starting my kinda, sorta diet. Nothing fancy, only smaller plates. I will be eating the same foods, mind you, just smaller portions. I’ve actually already started this. In the past, no matter what we had for dinner, I’d have seconds and that second portion would be just as big as the first. Now, I’m only eating the first serving. Three days ago I finally felt that coveted fullness I have been missing all these years after only one plate. I about broke the mirror smiling as hard as I was. I figure if I stop eating for two, I might lose half of me. There goes that logic again. Sneaky fellow, that guy.

So, there’s your update. For those of you joining me on this journey, leave your own updates down below. Together we’ll be a bunch of smexy, svelte individuals. And “smexy” is not a typo. It’s an E-ism. Smart + Sexy = Smexy. You’re welcome.

LYF!

E.

10 thoughts on “LABB: Day Ten

  1. A great update – not only in losing weight but in your calm, positive, logical approach to this journey. I can tell you right now that your system is LOVING that water and so are your kidneys!

    As for the caffeine, you are a braver man than me, Gunga Din. Several years ago I tried to ‘go off’ it and I was miserable. I tried for a while to have half decaf and half caf…but at the end of the day, I want my caffeine.

    You’re moving and grooving! :)))

  2. Sounds like you’re off to a good start my friend. I’m a little behind you, but that’s just because I’ve got your back. 😉

    In the past I’ve noticed I seem to gain weight the first week I’m trying to lose it, and I know the pizza the other day doesn’t help, so I’m putting off the scales for another week. I’ll test those waters when the waves die down a bit.

    As for the soda…my house is currently soda free…at the moment. That’s a monumental shift in lifestyle. 😉

    Being fat sucks, but exercise sucks more. Even so, I have managed to get out from behind the computer screen a few times this past week. 😉

  3. I know what you mean about the soda. I was up to two two-liters a day. Not a pretty thing as far as the waistband, and the wallet, are concerned.

    Every little bit helps, KD. I’m here for you, brother!

    E.

  4. I know how difficult it is to lose weight. I have been overweight -morbidly obese to be exact- for the majority of my life. My wake-up call came in ’07 when my multiple sclerosis was worsening at an alarming rate. I temporarily lost my eyesight and I feared it was a matter of time before I would be in a wheelchair. It’s amazing how fear motivated me. I drastically changed how and what I ate; I went on a gluten, dairy and sugar-free diet. I started cutting my portions just like you have. Two years later I was half the size after losing more than 150 pounds. I’ve been able to keep off the weight, which is something I’ve never been successful at in the past. The most important thing, though, is I’m still ambulatory (with a cane)..

    You can do this! You certainly have the right mental attitude. If you ever need recipes or just words of encouragement, let me know! Congratulations!! 😉

    Sherri

    1. Thank you for sharing that amazing success story, Sherri. Congratulations! I love hearing about people overcoming illness or trauma. 150lbs! You lost an Olsen Twin and one of those dogs they put in their purses!

      I’m a recipe hoarder when it comes to the healthy stuff now. Please, send me anything you can to edwardlorn@gmail.com or just post them here in the comments.

      Thank you for stopping by and sharing. Love it!

      E.

  5. Looking good, amigo! I had a bump in the road last week. Had to take a whirlwind trip to vist my parents. Dad gave us all a scare with some internal bleeding and a visit to the hospital. He’s fine for the moment, and I’m back home, but while I was gone, I wasn’t able to control my diet as much. I didn’t gain any weight, but I didn’t lose any, either. Back on track for this week. For now, I’m still down ten pounds, same as last week.

    And ITMT, I still owe you a chicken taco soup recipe. 😉

    1. Yes, you do, Brackster. I’m going shopping today, so I’ll catch up with you on Facebook.

      I’m happy your father made it through all right. Though scares are bad, they’re better than the alternative. In my opinion, anywho.

      Time to drop a toddler, Brackster. Alonzee Alonso!

      E.

  6. I want to be a better living example of making thoughtful food choices. Instead of dieting, I am carefully considering everything I eat and making an actual choice. It turns out to be a hard habit to start, but not a difficult one to keep – as long as I don’t go near the wine. Wine + me = me eating four times as much as I would sober! So far, I have lost two pounds in a month. I think the loss is slow because I’m not technically overweight, just at the top end of the healthy range. I want to get back to hanging out there in the happy medium.

    Sounds like you are on the right track, E! Congratulations on being on the path to health. Thanks for posting your updates and encouraging all of us to join you!

    -aniko

    1. I stopped alcohol for this mission as well, Aniko, and for the same reason. I eat like a famished hippo with a tapeworm when I drink. Congrats on your two pounds. Anything is something, but yes, it’s much harder to lose the weight when you don’t have an abundance to lose 😉 Everyone keeps warning me that the last fifty is going to take a year to melt off. I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

      Thank you for your words of encouragement!

Comments are closed.