LaBB: Day Thirty-four

Losing a Backstreet Boy – Day Thirty-four: 371lbs

Only one pound dropped in nine days. Ah, the plateau effect. In case you don’t know what I’m talking about, the plateau effect is when you taper off in your weight loss. There are plenty of reasons for this. A few can be associated with your body growing accustomed to the exercise or diet you’re currently on, as well as replacing fat with muscle. I believe I suffer from both. I can see a change in my body now; divots in my skin where fat used to reside, greater muscle definition in my arms and legs, along with a thinning of my face. So, I know I’m still losing weight. I just have to switch things up to make sure I stay on the right track for my weight loss goal.

To combat the plateau effect, I will be walking more and doing my yoga less. With NaNoWriMo just around the corner, I will have my backside planted in a chair for many hours during the day for the duration of November. Because Nano is just as important to me as my weight loss goal, I will be using those thirty days of literary abandon to my advantage. Everyday during November, I will be walking one mile to the library, where I will write my daily minimum word count, then I will walk home. That’s two miles a day with two hills to climb and descend on my path. This should work, but as with everything else, we shall see.

I am keeping up with my diet and nothing is changing. If the plateau effect does not wear-off within the first week of my library escapades, I will reevaluate my diet. For now, I’m making this up as I go along.

This has been a blast. To everyone supporting me, I extend my greatest appreciation. To those of you joining me on my journey, post your wins and failures down in the comment section. To quote Michael Jackson, “You are not alone.”

Shanti,

E.

14 thoughts on “LaBB: Day Thirty-four

  1. Well a pound is better than nothing and you are probably right about the muscle thing. The last two weeks I’ve lost inches and not pounds so something will still be going on. All you can do is make it up as you go along so don’t give up. The photo you posted of you holding something in your hand last week, I could so tell how much weight you have lost on your face, so you are doing amazingly well. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Audrey. Yeah, I’m seeing a big difference. I’m much stronger than I was a month ago, and have all but gotten rid of my pain medicine for my back. I’m very happy with my results. 🙂

      E.

    1. I plan on updating weekly. The only reason I waited nine days this time was because I was busy with Dane. Now that he’s out of the way, I have plenty of time. Truth be told, I’ll probably be done with Nano well before 30 days, but I will continue to go back and forth to the library to keep up my plan. 😉

      E.

  2. I was reading something on Shanna Germain’s blog where she has a treadmill hooked up to her desk so she writes and walks. Not a solution for now, but something to consider.

    Good luck on your weight loss, and Nano! I bet you’ll get a lot of plotting done during those walks.

Comments are closed.