To Be Read List: Suggestions Needed

E. here.

I have a goal of reading fifty books in 2013 (no worries, we’re not going anywhere December 21, 2012, trust me). I know some of your read that much in three months, but I’m a slow reader. In the comment section below, list your suggestions.

Genre doesn’t matter. Only stipulation is that you have to have read the book and liked it. I trust you guys not to steer me wrong. 

And yes, if I haven’t already read your book you can shamelessly plug yourself, as well.

LYF,

E.

11 thoughts on “To Be Read List: Suggestions Needed

  1. I posted some good ones recently on Facebook (so easy – now I don’t have to think, right?) read “Outrageous Fortunes” by Steven W. White and really liked it. And have you read the Wool series yet? Good stuff!

  2. Just (finally) read American Gods, by Neil Gaiman. Was superb. Wildly imaginative.

    What else? Pirate Cinema by Cory Doctorow was an interesting and well-paced bit of near-future spec-fic. I found the characters a little self-righteous sometimes, but a good read.

    The City and the City, by China Mieville. Brilliant. One of my all time favourites.

    Um… The Player of Games, by Iain M. Banks. Far-future hi-tech space opera. Brilliantly inventive, dark, fantastic writing. He’s the benchmark, for me.

    That’ll do for now 🙂

    1. I’m digging the synopsis for The City and the City. I added The Player of Games as well. I’ve read American Gods (loved it) but may pass on Pirate Cinema as I like my characters down to earth. But we’ll see.

      Thanks a heap, Dan!

  3. If you’ve not read it, “World War Z,” by Max Brooks.

    As for Neil Gaiman, I’d suggest the entire original run of Sandman. As far as I’m concerned, everything Gaiman has written since has been a shadow of Sandman. Not that he’s not written some great works, but I’ve felt everything he has had to say over the last 20 years had already been said somewhere in Sandman.

    “Florville and Courval, or The Works of Fate,” a short story by the Marquis de Sade, if you can find it. Yes, being more than 200 years old, it will read somewhat dated. It definitely is a different type of horror tale, in a way more tragedy than true horror, but it still presents different … options? … than are present in much of today’s horror which generally focus upon death or pain (though not always merely physical). While I’m at it, de Sade’s article “Reflections on the Novel” is interesting in how relevant it still is today.

    1. Blargh! One of the few down sides of having like-minded friends is that I’ve already consumed most of what they’ve consumed. I completely agree about Gaimen, on all fronts. Sandman is a forever classic. WWZ I read the week it was released. I will try to find de Sade’s works though. I’ve heard of their horrors but have never imbibed of them.

      Thanks, Ty!

Comments are closed.