Ruminating On: Death of a Heartthrob

1. I saw the light, and it was shocking!

Tom Cruise be praised! Scientists have finally explained why you dying-type-peoples experience that blinding white light when you… well, when you die. You know that fabled light at the end of the tunnel, that mystical beckoning illumination which seems to draw you in, welcoming you unto the bosom of the Invisible Man? Neither do I. But what I do know is that the world is full of near-death-touting folks that love telling everybody about how they “saw the light.” What really happened to them was an experience more on par with a transformer going the way of the dodo. Some devilish researchers monitored rats as the rodents passed away. What the researchers found was a large electronic surge, much like what occurs during an electrical storm that wipes out your power grid. If you’ve ever seen someone actually die, you can attest to the deflating quality of their body as well. This is due to the electrical charge leaving the body, therein turning your muscles to flapjacks. Well, I’ll be monkey’s uncle. Or, at the very least, a distant cousin.

2. Fifteen year old heartache

This one isn’t funny. Not even remotely. In Atlanta, GA, home to such great things as peaches and the set piece to that city scene in the first season of the Walking Dead, there’s a fifteen-year-old dude that’s going to die because he forgot to take his medicine. The Cockknockers of Transplant Compliance in Atlanta (a very real organization, mind you) have decided to let Anthony Stokes die by way of heart cessation because they believe he’ll skip his meds and no-show followup exams. His parents say he’s being looked over because of his low grades and prior run-ins with law enforcement. Who’s telling the truth? I haven’t a clue. I do know that this is beyond sad. He’s… he’s just a kid. Google his story, inform yourself, and come back to talk to me. I won’t comment further. I want to know what you guys think. 

Daily Tip: Bitches be crazy. Maybe if you stopped calling them bitches they wouldn’t act all crazy.

E.

home-energy

(Note: This blog is not professionally edited. And you should really see about that zit.)

7 thoughts on “Ruminating On: Death of a Heartthrob

  1. Sherri

    As a prior transplant nurse, I have to say I have issues with this decision. My hospital transplanted organs into rich, poor, alcoholics (after proving sobriety for a minimum of six months), those with hepatitis and even those who were in the U.S. illegally. Across town, UCSF would transplant organs into those with HIV/AIDS.

    Although non-compliance was a part of the workup to determine eligibility, it wasn’t the main determining factor; the severity of the illness — determined by the scoring system — was the main factor. I mean, come on, we had patients who couldn’t speak English! We were able to do patient teaching before and during their hospital stay in whatever language they spoke. Providing detailed information on medication compliance and follow-up appointments to the patient and family members in writing was part of our discharge plan.

    This is a child for Pete’s sake! The parents are there to make sure he complies with medication. If patients with AIDS or felons in prison can get transplants, this kid can too. I can’t tell you how many times I saw people who had liver transplants come back in for another one because they went off the wagon.

    The options for the family are to file an appeal with the hospital’s ethics committee, transfer their son to another hospital to be worked up or hire a lawyer and sue. I’m glad this is getting nationwide attention and a civil right’s group is involved with this case. Shame on the Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta!

  2. Hi Edward,

    I too read the article regarding the electrical surge within the rats’ brains at the moment of death. I also noted that scientists do not have an explanation for this *yet*. Even though I am a person of faith, believing in the existence of a soul that will transcend our physical bodies, I am also a firm believer in science: physics, biology and chemistry. For me these two aspects of humanity do and can happily co-exist.

    The other interpretation of the electrical surge (and for now any explanation as to why the surge happens is exactly that, an interpretation) is that it aligns with, an is a consequence of, the moment when the soul leaves the body. I’m not saying there is some ghostly apparition sailing off into a heaven or hell. I’m just saying that it seems reasonable, to me, that there is a fundamental extra that comes along with our physical form: an extra which makes us uniquely us, is more than the sum of our experiences and firing synapses.

    I think it’s something to continue to consider.

    As for the discussion regarding the transplants, I think it is a horrible system that prioritizes which children will receive transplants and which children won’t. I can’t imagine a more terrifying process. What concerns me is the argument Sherri made that “even AIDS patients” have been given transplants. One of my favourite people in the world is a long time AIDS survivor. That statement hearkens back to the days when people diagnosed with HIV/AIDS were told they deserved to die.

    Now, I understand creating a priority list, a hierarchy in essence, of how donor hearts will be distributed must be done. I assume (please tell me if I’m wrong) that the hearts are not in unlimited supply. If that is the case, who should get the hearts? What are the criteria? Should it be strictly by age? I don’t know nor do I have the medical expertise to judge.

    I do know that I would never want to be the person deciding.

    1. One of the best parts about having a diverse group of friends and fans is that you get to see all sides.

      Your comment is well received. Thank you for speaking up for the soul side, as it were.

      LYF!

      E.

Comments are closed.