Ruminating On: Why You Should Hate Me

I’m more apt to ask why someone likes me or the things I do instead of wondering why they don’t like me. Usually someone’s distaste for me is rather clear. And mostly, I tend to agree with them. I’m foul-mouthed, brutally honest, and rather offensive to soft-minded individuals who throw stones in glass houses. But the qualities I possess that get under these peoples’ skin are the same qualities that I value in myself. I will not lie to you based on whether or not I will shatter the precious little bubble that surrounds your fragile ego. If you ask me how I feel about something, I will give you my honest opinion. If you cannot handle another person’s views, do not ask for them. Nothing is gained by perpetuating falsities. Sure, I can tell you you’re the bee’s knees, but if you’re actually the monkey’s asshole, me lying to you isn’t going to help either of us. Then again, if you actually are the greatest thing since sliced bread, I will be sure to let you know. Believe this: I will not smile to your face then spit at you behind your back. If I like you, I like you. Hating you is pointless, a pure waste of my time. That amount of fuck I do not give.

As far as those of you who I offend, here’s a quote from Stephen Fry:

“It’s now very common to hear people say, ‘I’m rather offended by that.’ As if that gives them certain rights. It’s actually nothing more… than a whine. ‘I find that offensive.’ It has no meaning; it has no purpose; it has no reason to be respected as a phrase. ‘I am offended by that.’ Well, so fucking what.”

I don’t buy into racism, sexism, politics, religion, or any other group mindset (notice I left out spirituality). So go ahead and hate me for these things. But remember this. I gave you the reason, and therefor own your dislike of me.

E.

(Note: This post is dedicated to You Know Who You Are)

7 thoughts on “Ruminating On: Why You Should Hate Me

  1. I’ve seen that quote by Stephen Fry before and I LOVE it! Of course, a simple statement about being offended with no additional drama is ok, too. Ya know? If I tell a person their language offends me (yes, there are some things that do actually offend me) and they keep saying it, I don’t make a big deal about it. I made my preference known and now I’ll just avoid that person whenever possible. Of course, when you have bigots in the family it’s hard to get away from sometimes.

    It’s all about choices. My choices. I can’t control anyone else on this planet except myself. I can live with that.

    1. I agree on all accounts. I’m just tired of hearing the whines and complaints from those individuals who do nothing to better themselves and expect people to praise them for it.

      1. Whiner babies need pacifiers to suck on. Or shove a cock down their throat. Whatever.

        I also hate those that do things and then *expect* praise. Um, I don’t do shit expecting praise. I do it because I want to. That’s my cake. If they praise or thank me then that’s the ice cream to go with that cake. Not something I need, but it’s a nice addition.

  2. Sherri

    I understand where you are coming from. I’m at a place in my life where I really don’t give a damn what people think of me. I didn’t used to be like that, but after being made fun of as a kid — and even into my early 20s — I finally grew a pair. I stand up for what I believe in and I tend to be very protective of people who were in a lot of ways like me growing up.

    Probably one of the proudest moments I experienced was last year when I posted on Facebook my support of gay marriage. I lost quite a few “friends,” including most of my family members. Do you know what I gained? The feeling that I no longer had to hide my beliefs was one, but I gained the trust in three friends who came out and thanked me for supporting them. Is that cool, or what? People I went to school with and my family (minus my sister), can kiss my ass. It was such a great feeling. lol

    I’m rambling here, but the point I want to make is being foul-mouthed and brutally honest is an asset in my book. I would rather have someone tell me to go fuck myself than smile in my face and talk about me behind my back.

Comments are closed.