30 Day Book Challenge – Day 03

odd thomas

Day 03 – Your favorite series.

This is kind of a no-brainer for me. Though Dean Koontz’s fry cook and I have quite the love/hate relationship, I’ve liked more Odd Thomas novels than I’ve disliked. Yes, Forever Odd should have been skipped, and Deeply Odd could have used a little more… well… everything, but at least they’re readable. My personal favorites in the series are Odd Interlude and, the book that started it all, Odd Thomas. And yes, in that order. There’s something about Odd Interlude that reminds me of classic Koontz. Dean’s biggest success in my eyes is making me feel scared for Odd in Interlude. I knew there was another book coming, namely Odd Apocalypse, but I was still concerned that Odd might finally die.

On a side note: My second favorite series is also by Dean Koontz’s. The Christopher Snow books are amazing (Fear Nothing and Seize the Night), but it’s been over a decade since we’ve had a Snow novel. Chris’s home of Moonlight Bay is mentioned in Odd Interlude, which makes this fan wonder if Odd and Chris might rub elbows in the near future. Dean Koontz, before you die, make that happen.

30 day book challenge

2 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – Day 03

  1. fuonlyknew

    I have the first few Odd Thomas books but haven’t read past the first one. I’m not too sure about these. Doesn’t feel like the Koontz writing I love. I’d have to reread the Snow novels to remember if I really liked them. Been quite a while and don’t recall much.
    Been sitting here 5 minutes and still can’t think of a favorite series. So many I’ve read. But I’m drawing a blank.

Comments are closed.