30 Day Challenge – Day 05

skipping

 

Day 05 – A book that makes you happy.

I read this one when it first came out because a friend from work recommended it. I typically don’t like Grisham. I don’t know what it is about him, but I just don’t enjoy the way he writes. Not saying he’s a bad author, just that, personally, I don’t dig him. Anyway, I do, however, dig this book. It’s one of the first comedies I remember reading all the way through. Before this book it was all King, Koontz, Little, Laymon, Ketchum, and so on. If there was blood and murder and monsters and evil, I was in. I didn’t have time for happy crappy like feel-good lit. Skipping Christmas changed all that. I matured a great deal after reading this book. I have certain chapters from this book that I will go back and read whenever I’m feeling down. Better than Prozac, eh? 😉

Oh, and don’t even mention the travesty of cinema known as Christmas with the Kranks. I don’t believe that any adaptation can ruin the source material because the original work remains the same, but the movie based on this book is an affront to Grisham’s story. I haven’t watched a Tim Allen movie since.

30 day book challenge

