30 Day Book Challenge – Day 11

brian-keene-the-rising1Day 11 – A book you hated.

I dig everything Brian Keene writes… except when he tackles zombies. Kill Whitey is a good book, as is The Darkness on the Edge of Town, but when Keene tackles the undead, he loses me. Keene’s The Rising is the only book I’ve hated that I actually finished. Even after the zombie started talking, I hung in there. Even after the second zombie baby, I hung in there. All the way up to the cliffhanger ending, I hung in there. I don’t know what I hated more; the fact that the book had no ending, or that Keene actually expected me to read the sequel. I know this is harsh, but it’s my opinion, and mine alone. I know plenty of folks that loved The Rising and Keene’s signature demon-possessed corpses, but they just weren’t for me. I continue to read his work, though, just not any of his zombie books.

30 day book challenge

 

3 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – Day 11

  1. fuonlyknew

    I also love Brian’s writing. I spent the big bucks and bought the hardback copy. I’ve picked it up many times, read a little, and got up to choose something else. I just couldn’t get into it. I always finish a book and this one may be a first DNF for me. I can’t even figure out why I can’t read it.
    Did you say zombie babies? How can that be?!!

  2. ***SPOILER ALERT***

    The main character’s wife (at least I think it was his wife… it’s been a long time since I read it… or maybe it’s a neighbor… ) is pregnant when the zombie outbreak begins. Of course, after death, the baby eats through her stomach, and mother and child go on an undead feeding frenzy. The baby’s still attached to the umbilical cord…

    Then we have zombie baby number two, who’s inside a stroller during the main female character’s romp through a zoo. :/

    1. fuonlyknew

      Kind of creative but not really plausible. The baby can’t thrive if the host body is dead, but must be different with zombie babies. How fast can it crawl?
      I can only imagine the baby in the stroller. I can see zombie mom giving the baby a finger for a pacifier. LOL
      Now I have so many questions maybe I can finish it.

Comments are closed.