30 Day Book Challenge – Day 14

GrinchDay 14 – A book turned into a movie and completely desecrated.

I like the way today’s prompt is worded. Desecrated. Not ruined, but desecrated. One of desecrated‘s definitions is: to treat with sacrilege; profane. A film adaptation never ruins the book. It doesn’t affect the book at all. No matter how shoddily the source material is treated, the book is just as good as it ever was. With that lesson in semantics out the way, I think the most profane adaptation would have to be How the Grinch Stole Christmas: The Jim Carey Edition. The old cartoon is magical, whimsical, leaving one with a wistful feeling, at least for those of us belonging to Generation Why (as in WHY does Hollywood keep molesting my childhood?). Ron Howard’s seizure inducing Carey-Vehicle is funny and boisterous, but overlong. I dig Old Rubber Face’s performance as the titular character, and the film is overall enjoyable, but the tone is much different. You never actually dislike Carey’s Grinch because you know that loveable-ass Jim Carey is behind the makeup. The added material didn’t do anything for me. I wasn’t sitting there going, “Ah! So that’s why he was such an asshat!” because I was wondering the whole time where the writer’s got their information. Dr. Suess’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas didn’t have any appendixes to work off. In my opinion, Howard’s team jammed a turkey baster up the source material’s ass and injected it with needless filler. Stop artificially inseminating my childhood, cock pandas!

(Author’s Note: If you so much as mention the name of that Mike Myers/Alec Baldwin film based on a Dr. Suess book about two kids left in the care of one amazing feline, I will hunt you down and fist you into oblivion. Are we understood? The Film That Shall Not Be Named should be allowed to disappear from our collective consciousness. And, yes, I understand it’s both an affront to cinema as well as the book. It is not mentioned here because, for this fan, it does not exist.)

30 day book challenge

