Ruminating On: Clarification

I’ve been inundated with emails from concerned individuals. Too many to answer. Because all of these distraught souls have become so upset after reading my post, Ruminating On: What Matters, I felt I would post again to clarify a few things.

I will condense all the emails I received into three questions. Here we go.

Did you have a falling out with so and so? Did I do something to upset you? Did you block me?

The answer to every single one of these questions is a resounding NO. There it is, in bold and all caps, because… clarity. When I said I was tired of all the inane babble on Facebook, I meant the site as a whole, and not one person. If I have been rude, standoffish, or unresponsive, it’s not because anyone has upset me, nor is it because I’m holding a grudge or vendetta. If I have not responded to your email, it’s because I’m busy. I will try to explain, succinctly, why I chose to dip-out without any warning.

I’m suffering from a creative surge. This happens to me at least once a year, but this is the third time this year that it has happened. I have a list of twenty-five stories that all want to be novel-length. This is not counting the short stories I write just for the fuck of it. I cannot write fast enough. I know, I know. There are children in Africa who wish they could write half as much as I do, and all that other crap. Listen, being buried under a mountain of ideas is just as bad as not having a single idea rattling around in your head. Writing, editing, proofreading, cover design, and publication all takes time. Having a fuck-ton of manuscripts writing around only means I have to pick and choose what readers see and when, or if they should see it at all. I try to write faster, but the characters become even more vocal. I want to cut the story short so that I can work on the next project but I can’t because E. has a reputation to consider. I want to please everyone, but, sometimes, everyone is a greedy asshole who only cares for number one. Including me. I no longer have time to offer advice to struggling authors, or to read their unpublished stories. This is a shame because I once prided myself on watching a writer grow under my tutelage. Call me elitist, call me a jerk, call me an egomaniac, call me a pickle-brained troglodyte who’s ruining his career by alienating people. Say whatever you will. It’s your right. I’ve been sleeping in a house built by friends. It’s time I constructed my own house, and whether I succeed or fail, I’m going to sleep in it.

Growing pains are a bitch.

E.

 

10 thoughts on “Ruminating On: Clarification

  1. I kind of wondered some of those things myself, but I know you’re a busy guy and I want to bother you as little as possible.
    I kind of feel you on the millions of ideas front, my problem is motivation. I’m still hung up on this manuscript for the first novel. As sad as it is, I don’t think I’ll be very motivated to do more writing until I receive some kind of sign that Lady Carlotta’s Pearls isn’t as horrible as I thought it was.
    Either way, I’m happy to keep up with you however I can. I look forward to talking to you again, even if that takes awhile. I would never hold it against you that you just don’t have the time that you used to, though I might be quite envious of your creative surge. 😉 I never have the energy to keep up with my own.
    Hope everything is okay in your corner of the world and that the muse takes a chill pill every once in awhile. We all sometimes need a reminder to breathe, stop and smell the roses, or whatever old, poetic cliche I can muster up. 😉

  2. I’m glad you explained a bit more. I understood at the beginning but it isn’t surprising that people care about you, Edward. Facebook is an illusion, I think.

    Get back to your stories, sir. Looking forward to reading more of you in 2014…2015…2016…etc :)) LYF

    1. Facebook is a zoo. It’s fun to watch the monkeys sling shit at each other from time to time, but everyone has to go home eventually. Unfortunately, FB doesn’t have an off button, so I deactivated that asshole. 🙂

    1. Yes, Joe, it’s all your fault. A sorry cannot help the damage you’ve done. You ravaged my soul with that comment. I will never forget it. But you are forgiven. 🙂

  3. Since you’re no longer over at Facebook, I thought I’d keep you up to date on what is happening there:

    Cats. Lots of cats.

    And kids. Lots of people showing off their little angels.

    Some politician somewhere said something stupid and now we’re all supposed to rage about it for a few days until the next politician says something stupid.

    Please read my books! Please, please, oh pretty please!

    And while you’re at it, would you mind reading, and maybe editing and proof reading, my 500,012 word short story? I really, really, really want your opinion. And you’ll do it for free, right? No? You asshole!

    Somebody saw a movie and it sucked. And just in case you wanted to see this movie and form your own opinion, I can provide a lengthy series of spoilers.

    Oh, almost forgot, the end of the world is coming. I can’t remember this week if it’s the environment or the terrorists or God, but the end is coming. Real, real soon.

    Something, something about Star Wars or Star Trek or Dr. Who.

    Annoying advertisements.

    There. Caught up? Feel better? I knew you’d miss it.

Comments are closed.