Ruminating On: Film

One of the most common questions I get is “What’s your favorite movie?” I’ve answered it over and over again, so much so that friends and fans continue to send me media and keepsakes branded or inspired by what I consider the greatest film ever made. I’m not going to mention it here, but I am going to drop a few cinematic endeavors that influenced books I’ve written. Below, you will find the name of one of my novels followed by one or two films responsible for its writing. Some might be obvious, other might surprise you.

Bay’s End – Stand By Me, The Girl Next Door 

Dastardly Bastard – Jacob’s Ladder

What the Dark Brings – The Twilight Zone (1985), Tales from the Darkside: The Movie

Hope for the Wicked – A Serbian Film, Borderland, Fargo, No Country for Old Men

Life after Dane – Identity, Shocker 

Cruelty – Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (if you can figure out why, I’ll send you everyone of my books for free, for life)

Crawl – The Passion of the Christ, Mr. Boogedy, The Sixth Sense (if you can figure out why The Sixth Sense is included in Crawl’s list of inspirations I’ll send you a $10 Amazon Gift Card)

 

 

