Clarifying Some Things

Hello everybody.

I’ve received a few emails from readers and authors alike wondering why I’ve chosen to forsake my indie/small press street cred (no, I couldn’t keep a straight face after typing that) to take on the big publishing world. I’m not upset by this question, but it seems I’ve been misunderstood. Here is my attempt to clarify some things.

First, I am a very happy indie/small press author. I sell relatively well in the book market, but the majority of my income comes from Audible. Most recently, my serial novel Cruelty has started bringing money in because of Kindle Unlimited. Instead of $0.35 an episode, I’m making well over a dollar an episode, depending on the KDP Select share for the month, which is even more than the cover price of each episode. So yes, I’m happy with the way things are.

Secondly, I enjoy being small time. Being small time means I can interact with everyone that wants to interact with me. I do not look forward to a day when I will be unable to answer every email and respond to every comment. That, my friends, would suck. So no, my decision isn’t about fame.

Thirdly, I am doing this because I’m a firm believer in having something for everyone. I also believe in growth. The novels I’m submitting to major publishers are not horror novels. They are dark, somewhere in the vein of Caroline Kepnes’s You, and yes, even like some of Gillian Flynn’s work, but definitely not in the horror genre. Let’s call it bleak literary fiction. My most recent work is nothing like Cruelty  and Life After Dane and Bay’s End. This does not mean I will never return to horror. What this does mean is that I am spreading my wings and covering more ground. Going with Penguin Random House or HarperCollins means I will be able to tap those of you that do not read horror, and those of you that do not read independent/small press authors. I’m not giving up on anything, I’m only expanding.

I love the career I have. I do not suggest anyone else take the same route as me, or even use my meager success as a blueprint for their own careers. I’m having fun, doing what I feel is right for me at this time, but this path could very well be catastrophic for others. In other words, don’t try this at home. Hell, I don’t even know if I’ll succeed, but the journey is half the fun.

I hope this answers any questions you might have. Thanks for reading.

E.

2 thoughts on “Clarifying Some Things

  1. As long as you are alive, happy, and publishing, then I am a happy camper. Thank you for keeping me entertained, no matter what publishing platform you choose.

Comments are closed.