Starry Eyes Movie Review

This will more than likely make some kind of Best of 2015 list, at least where I’m concerned. I love stories about the seedy side of Hollywood. I fucking adore films that do not give up all their secrets within the first ten minutes. And I dig the shit out of slow burns that go from zero to sixty in the blink of an eye. Starry Eyes is all this and more.

Hot damn, but I had a load of fun with this film. First, it will make you dreadfully uncomfortable. I’m not talking about Bad Grampa/Jackass-awkward kind of uncomfortable, but that kind of uncomfortable where you grope for your significant other while chomping the nails of your other hand. Starry Eyes has atmosphere, it has a story, it has a wide variety of believable, three-dimensional characters, even if some are cliches. It has one of the fiercest, goriest, cringe-inducing denouements in recent memory. And when shit starts going wrong, it goes horribly, terribly wrong.

I didn’t quite understand the very last death scene. Not sure what happened or how a certain person died, but oh well. The rest of the film makes up for any small problems I might have had.

In summation: The only word of warning I’d give you I have already stated. This is a slow burn. Hang in there. It all pays off.

Final Judgment: A star is born.

2 thoughts on “Starry Eyes Movie Review

  1. I watched this movie the other night and actually didn’t enjoy it all that much. It was slow at times, and even though the premise was awesome, it kind of flat lined for me about halfway through. I finished it, but I probably wouldn’t watch it again. :/ I like some suspense with my horror flicks, things that make the wheels turn in my head, and I felt like this was mostly just gore without anything to nurture my horror-loving psyche. 😦
    I’m glad you enjoyed it though, but it wasn’t for me.

Comments are closed.