Confessions of a Hack #6

In this episode of Confessions of a Hack, we travel back to Episode One.

 

Yesterday, I used “conscious” instead of “conscience” in my review of Finders Keepers. Being a writer, this is embarrassing, sure, but my fragile feelings don’t concern me as much as the fact that I can’t seem to break this stupid habit. I know the difference between the words, but I keep making the same mistake. I know, I know, that’s what editors are for, but I don’t pay people to edit my reviews and blog posts. You know how much I post. I’d be broke in two days. Besides, editing is for content I intend to sell because I want you to have the best possible experience. These posts are just me running my mouth.

 

Anyfloop, I read that review five times. One of those times was out loud (it’s an old self-editing trick; it works–most of the time–because you actually read what you wrote and not what you think you wrote), but what does that matter when my brain sees “conscious” as “conscience”? Today, I was far enough removed from the review to be able to catch it upon another reread, but that doesn’t change that hundreds of people saw it. 

 

I suppose I’m going to have to stop posting reviews the same day I write them. That, or stop using “conscious” and “conscience” in any context.

 

So, tell me, do you have any words you constantly swap out for other words? Doesn’t matter if English is your first language or not, you’ll be safe in the comments below. No one will judge you. If they do, I’ll kill their comment with fire. 

 

Original post:
edwardlorn.booklikes.com/post/1180347/confessions-of-a-hack-6

