Another Guest Post from an Author Trying to Sell His New Book

(Author’s Note: This post is not new. It was originally part of my blog tour for Pennies for the Damned and was posted HERE. This version has had the promo bits edited out. Now that the tour is in the rearview, I wanted to share it with my circle of followers. I am of the mindset that the more honest I am with my readers, the more likely they are to keep reading my work. Some of this information might be a no-brainer. Then again, there might be an author or a blogger out there who has not heard this information before. If nothing else, maybe you’ll have a laugh or two.) 

 

Another Guest Post from an Author Trying to Sell His New Book

 

by Edward Lorn

 

Do you know why we (meaning Authors) do guest posts on blog tours? You might think it’s because we want you to buy our books. Well, that’s the desired end result, innit? But do I expect you to read one blog post and run out and buy my newest book and become my biggest fan and totes go cray-cray in public forums about your new fandom, namely ME!? Nope. Here’s what happens when you see an author’s name pop up in your email because he or she has been hosted by your favorite book blogger.


It’s called “saturation”, and it’s only bad when it comes to fat. You might not even be reading this anymore, but you’ve made note of my name up there in the byline. Now when I pop up somewhere else, you’ll think, “Hey, I’ve heard of that guy.” Then, maybe the time after that or the time after that, you’ll say to yourself, “I’m seeing this guy everywhere. What’s the dealio?” Mayhap you buy one of my books or you download a freebie or you catch a sale, and BAM! my witty wordplay and perfect prose locks you in for life. (The sarcasm drips…) Statistics say (and we know stats are NEVER WRONG!) you (the consumer) have to see something seven times before you’ll purchase it. Of course, this is an average. Some circus chap once said, “A sucker is born every second,” but so are frugal and simply indecisive people. Which are you? Lawdy, I don’t know, so I guest post and offer review copies and smile for the camera and hope you give me a shot simply because you’ve seen me frakkin’ EVERYWHERE!


I don’t want to sell you a book. I want to tell you a story. I’m one of the lucky ones. I do this for a living. I’m also smart enough to know that none of this would be possible without you, the reader. So, if you would, read something of mine. Review it if you want to. If nothing else, let me know what you think. I don’t bite, I promise. 

If you’ve made it to the end of this post, thank you for giving me your attention. Look me up on social media. I’m kinda everywhere. In the meantime…

 

*hugs and high fives*


E.

Original post:
edwardlorn.booklikes.com/post/1199492/another-guest-post-from-an-author-trying-to-sell-his-new-book

3 thoughts on “Another Guest Post from an Author Trying to Sell His New Book

  1. I love this, Ed! I’ve said this before, but your honesty is incredibly admirable and it pulls at my heartstrings every time. I swear to Jesus, it really does.:) And admittedly, a lot of other author’s are also honest, but there’s something different coming from you. Maybe it’s your brand of humor, your dedication to the craft, I really can’t say, and I think it’s probably best to let your words speak for themselves, eh?

Comments are closed.