The Quiet Game Review

Review:

Quiet Game - Greg Iles

Lemme tell you a story.

I’m perusing the stacks at my local Books-a-Million (hitherto referred to as BAM), when I come across an absolutely gorgeous hardcover by a guy named Greg Iles. That novel was Natchez Burning, and if you’re ever at BAM or any other brick-and-mortar bookseller, check it out. Shoot, maybe you own this marvel of modern publishing. I wanna have babies with that hardcover. Papercuts on my dinglehopper be damned! Anyfuck, I’m wiping drool from my mouth as I pull out my phone and bring up my Goodreads app. Fuck my couch and call me Naugahyde,Natchez Burning is the FOURTH goddamn book in a series starring author/lawyer Penn Cage. What’s a book junkie to do? Start the series at the beginning, that’s what.

Horribly tragic side note: The Bone Tree (Penn Cage #5) just came out and it’s just as fucking sexy as it’s predecessor. My lights are gonna get cut off, people, but at least I’mma have some pretty books to read by candlelight.

Back on track. After ogling Natchez Burning, I traipsed over to my second favorite stomping grounds (Trade N Books in Montgomery, AL) to find the first three Penn Cage books because BAM didn’t have any of the earlier novels. Bad BAM! Shame on you! Luckily, my used bookseller had the first and the third books in the series. I bought them posthaste. This was two weeks ago. I went back today, after having finished the first novel last night, and they had the second book. Series acquired. Let the Greg Iles marathon begin!

The Quiet Game is one of those novels that defies categorization. It is equal parts action, suspense, courtroom drama, and literary novel. There’s even a bit of horror toward the end. (The last meeting with Ike Ransom was intense and disturbing. Two words: Bone fragments). And the final court case damn near gave me an anxiety attack.

I know absolutely dick about lawyer-type shenanigans, but I understood everything in this book. Iles does a fantastic job of dropping knowledge on your ass without making it feel as if you’re taking a law course at a community college. In other words, this novel is never boring. It grips you from the first page and hooks you through the bag until the end. I read the final 200 pages in a day. Couldn’t put the book down. Iles ends every chapter in such a way that you feel the pressing urgency to continue on. And when you do put the book down you feel as if you’ve lost a friend.

In summation: I could go on and on about the terrific twists and the brutality and the tragedy and the stellar dialogue but I won’t. I will tell you to read it and find out for yourself. Now would you kindly fuck off so I can start the next book in the series. Peace!

Final Judgment: You’ll break the bank searching for the rest of this guy’s books.

Original post:
edwardlorn.booklikes.com/post/1207326/the-quiet-game-review

5 thoughts on “The Quiet Game Review

  1. Classic Book Reading

    He is one hell of an author. I love his books. A truly gifted storyteller. Great write up.

  2. Incredible review, mate, truly stellar! And here’s a bonus: you’re like the third GR buddy that’s highly recommended Iles and this book to me (Adam Light being one of them.) πŸ™‚ By the way, I completely agree about the infinite beauty of Natchez Burning and The Bone Tree. But oh man, I must find a copy of The Quiet Game ASAP. Thanks again, for always giving the best recommendations!

Comments are closed.