The Death Factory Review

The Death Factory: A Penn Cage Novella (Kindle Single) - Greg Iles

Holy Shit Snacks, Scoob, David Ledoux’s narration did not fit this book whatsoever.

I decided to listen to this one instead of reading it because Ledoux is one of my favorite narrators, but his style made this an awkward experience. None of the voices seemed to match the characters, and Penn’s voice especially was borderline silly. I definitely will not be grabbing Ledoux’s narration of Natchez Burning. If I had to rate this on his performance alone, I’d have to give it one star. Luckily, the story itself saves this edition from being a total loss.

In The Death Factory, we finally get to hear about Sarah Cage’s final hours. This novella is heartbreaking and thought provoking, as is the rest of Iles’s catalogue, at least those of which I’ve read. It is also the first thing Iles released after his near-fatal crash in 2011, wherein he lost one of his legs. I’m happy to say that nothing has changed. Iles’s writing is as good as ever.

In summation: The Death Factory is an emotional albeit short story effectively told through flashbacks. The chassis this thing is built on is rather cleverly designed. I only wish I would have read it instead of listening to it.

Final Judgment: Emotional hor d’oeuvres.

Original post:
edwardlorn.booklikes.com/post/1325424/the-death-factory-review

