My Semi-Fictional Life #9 (Me Time)

Hello, everybody. Last night I was laying in bed after a long day of work. I edited for ten hours and managed to get 40 pages of Slasher: Live done. By the end of the day, my head and back were throbbing . It’s true what they say, mental strain can have physical symptoms. I know, I know, woe is me. Over here living the dream and bitching about some aches and pains. Sorry. I’ll move along.

So, at the end of my day, I’m lying in bed, I got an ebook open, John Carpenter’s “Lost Themes” playing in the background, my son bouncing around the room, refusing to go to sleep, and my wife next to me working on her website, when this sudden irresistible urge to just veg out with some tunes strikes me. It was like a punch in the face. Helluva wake up call.

Years ago, when I worked a job pulling 60-hour weeks, I used to buy several albums a paycheck. I’d listen to them over and over again, until I’d memorized all the lyrics. If the album had any guitar tracks, I’d learn every riff, in track order. That was my release. My chill time.

But, man, I cannot remember the last time I did it. At some point, my hobby (writing) became my job and I stopped using music to relax. And I have no idea why. I’m not even sure it was a slow decrease in Me Time, or if it all just went away one day and I somehow didn’t miss it. I missed it last night, though.

So I put on Slayer’s latest album, “Relentless”, lay back, and did nothing else for the length of the album. After that, I slept like a baby. Rad.

Tonight’s the county fair, so no work today.

What do you do for Me Time? Do you ever get to have time to yourself, or does life constantly get in the way? Let me know in the comments sections below.

Until tomorrow, I leave you with how I work when my back acts up…

Pic of the Day

workday.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “My Semi-Fictional Life #9 (Me Time)

Comments are closed.