Ruminating On:

My Semi-Fictional Life #24 (A Review)

Hello, you wondrously righteous ringer bearers! Today I have a review for Koji Suzuki’s RING. Spoiler alert: I wasn’t a fan.

One of the few times in my life I can legitimately say that the movie was better than the book. Oh, and in case you’re wondering, I like the American and Japanese versions equally. I do, however, like the Japanese sequel more than the American sequel.

Where did this go wrong? Well, I was enjoying this one until the introduction of the best friend, Ryuji the Rapist. I don’t think it matters that Ryuji the Rapist might have been lying about his past. Just having him in the book and believing for the majority of the book that he was a rapist ruined the rest of the novel for me. As far as I’m concerned him being Ryuji the Rapist did nothing for the plot or character development. Making his true nature ambiguous in the end was equally frustrating. I don’t even care about what happened to him. Other than wishing he’d been left out, I’m unaffected by his part in the story.

I will be continuing with the series, though, because Ryuji the Rapist won’t be in future books and I liked the way this one ended. I’m interested in seeing how the author expands on this idea.

The translation is basic as hell. The most passive voice I’ve read in a long time. I have no idea why it took two people to translate this. I guess one to write the book in English and the other one to dumb down the text? It’s very easy to read yet bland as fuck. Like Dean Koontz run through a coffee filter.

In summation: I could’ve done without Ryuji and that, more than anything else, affected my rating. The basic writing is serviceable, but that’s about it. Skip this one and watch the movies instead.

Final Judgment: If you want people to care, maybe don’t make one of your main characters a rapist. Thanks.

Some fresh content coming tomorrow. See you then.

E.

Pic of the Day

38379

One thought on “My Semi-Fictional Life #24 (A Review)

  1. I have this book on my nightstand right now, but haven’t started it. I love the American movie, but don’t recall the Japanese version being much different. It’s been years since I’ve seen the latter.

Comments are closed.