Ruminating On:

My Semi-Fictional Life #30 (NaNoWriMo Begins!)

Hello, my wonderfully witty pre-winter writers! Today is the beginning of NaNoWriMo, or to the uninitiated, National Novel Writing Month! If you are unaware, NaNoWriMo is a yearly challenge to write 50,000 words in 30 days. Seems like a helluva feat when you sit back and think about it, and it is. I’ve managed to win seven times out of eight (I failed last year) and decided I would only participate this year if I had an idea waiting to jump out onto the page. Just so happens that just that happened to me in October. I am now toenail-deep into a new novel entitled Platform.

I wrote 3,801 words today, which is pretty good for a guy who can’t sit in one place too long. I suppose you want a taste of what I wrote? Well, I’m usually against showing off unedited material, but since we’re all friends here… and as long as you promise not to tell anybody… I guess I can share a wittle itty bitty bit…

If you see any errors, please ignore them. By reading this now, you’re kinda seeing me in the buff before I have a chance to shower and get dressed for our big date. Anyfloop, here’s the opening paragraph as it stands right now:

One clear morning, a mile above a major city, an object appeared in the sky. Nothing more than a flat black square that looked, from ground level, to be no bigger than a chess board. Below, the residents of this great bustling metropolis noticed nothing awry. All attention focused on the way ahead, each person communicated with their respective devices. Not a single soul looked to the heavens. They barely noticed each other, much less what occurred overhead. Thus, for a while, the platform went unnoticed.

And that’s all you get. For now anyway. I hope to be able to share a small bit from each day’s writing, but I also don’t want to give any of the story away.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? If you are, what are you working on? Lemme know in the comments and follow me on Twitter for daily cheerleading. Good luck!

I’ll see you tomorrow,

E.

Pic of the Day

platform

 

