My Semi-Fictional Life #78 (Let’s Play Flash Fiction Friday, Round 6!)

Hello peeps. Before we get started, I want to point out an offer that I, myself, signed up for this morning.

In this post-fact America, with Trump tweeting inaccuracies and the Christian-right filling everyone’s heads with fairy tales, I feel it more important than ever to educate ourselves on what’s really going on. Simply following the enemies of our enemies is not enough. There is plenty of propaganda out there on both sides of the political spectrum. Yes, Dems can be just as stubborn and quick to judge as Republicans, and just as easily fooled, too. I know I’ve been guilty of such things.

After some research, I’ve decided to actually try a subscription with The New York Times. This is not a sponsored post. The New York Times doesn’t give a shit what Edward Lorn thinks of their company. However, I feel they are the least biased of the biggest news companies. Them being an enemy of Trump is only the icing on the cake.

With all that having been said, I navigated over to The New York Times this morning to sign up and found that they have a special going on. For $0.99 you get four months’ access to the basic website, or you can upgrade to the behind-the-scenes specials and whatnot for the same price. I don’t care about that stuff, so I signed up for the basic package. After the four months is over, my subscription will come to $15.61 a month. Not bad. That’s almost as much as Netflix and I’ll be educating myself.

Already this morning, I’ve learned that the reality behind the electorates voting for anyone other than Trump is a pipe dream. I was banking on their greed to sway their vote because Trump is, if nothing else, bad for business. With all his talk of “draining the swamp”, I figured we had a chance, if for no other reason than he’d be hard to control and profit from. Then I read that electorates can be fined and/or removed from their positions if they vote against their state’s popular vote and lost what little hope I had. I’m sure these people take more pride in their positions of power than they do the future of this nation.

Sorry to be so depressing, but I thought that it was important that I admit I was wrong. Our only hope now is that Trump us impeached for his conflicts of interest and we end up with Pence, who is equally scary, yet I don’t believe he’d be one to get us nuked over a tweet.

I went on too long. I apologize. Now for the main topic of discussion. (I probably lost everyone with the political talk, but I hope not.)

It’s that time of the week again! Time to drop your suggestions for Friday’s story in the comment section so that I might weave them together into one cogent thread. Or at least try. I don’t always succeed, but the failures can be just as entertaining as the successes.

Make it happen, cap’ns!

See you tomorrow,

E.

Pic of the Day

My daughter Autumn and our dog Ash…

img_20161218_161248

Photo credit: My wife

9 thoughts on “My Semi-Fictional Life #78 (Let’s Play Flash Fiction Friday, Round 6!)

  1. Bobble-Head Phil was born without the first 5 vertebrae in his neck causing his head to consistently nod. The only job he can get is a dashboard Jesus for the Jolly Green Giants recreational Winnebago. And Phil’s allergic to peas! Will Phil be able to beat his hives and keep his job or will his oozing sores force him out of a job and into the streets.

  2. He has been working on his PhD in animal behavior but unfortunately he stubbornly insisted on echidna mating habits for his final thesis. Echidnas are notoriously shy when it comes to mating and getting the actual act on film is difficult, to say the least. He has studied preserved echidnas but like so many others, the exact usage of the 4 headed penis is still a bit foggy. He’s determined to lift that fog!

Comments are closed.