My Semi-Fictional Life #106 (Forced Positivity)

Hello peeps. Today we’re going to talk about several things that having been weighing on my mind. Mainly forced positivity. But before that, I wanted to talk about failure.

Back when I first started taking my writing career seriously, I made a promise to finish everything I started, no matter how asinine or boring the project. In the dark ages of this blog, I talked about finishing everything you start if only because you cannot fix what doesn’t exist. While the idea is good, forced completion does not always make a sellable product. In fact, I’ve written, to date, 25 novels, and over 1,000 short stories, and have only published a fifth of my output (this is a lifetime number, some of these stories aren’t even 600 words long). And if you’re of the camp that thinks what I publish is below standard, boy oh boy, you should see what I keep to myself.

I bring that up because, on Mondays, I’ve been asking for suggestions for Flash Fiction Fridays. The suggestions have been stellar and the stories, for the most part, have been fun, but part of this project was to show that a there’s a story hidden in everything. That you can make sense of nonsense. I don’t think I managed to do that with the last two. At least not in any entertaining way. I’ve been just kinda… going through the motions. Sure I can continue to produce crap, but what’s the fun in that?

So I’m stopping. The honest reason behind this is that I’m just not feeling myself lately. I’ve always battled depression, but usually I can write my way out of it. This time it’s proving a mite harder to get out of this slump. It seems that whenever my life becomes brightest, I fall into the darkest depths. There is nothing wrong with my life. I have a terrific family and a secure existence out here in the middle of nowhere, but my mood is shot, and until I can remove my head from my ass, I need to take a break from these stories.

Oddly enough, today’s blog post came about after watching a PewDiePie video on YouTube, wherein Felix discusses forced positivity. I’ll link that below.

This isn’t the end of Flash Fiction Fridays. If you’ve followed me long enough you know this is the second time I’ve done this, and I’m sure I will do it again. Right now, I’m not feeling it. If I’m honest, I didn’t even want to write this post today.

See you tomorrow,

E.

Video of the Day

5 thoughts on “My Semi-Fictional Life #106 (Forced Positivity)

  1. No worries, E. I go through similar depression every few years. Luckily, it usually doesn’t last too long. No sense in forcing yourself to write if you’re not feeling it anyway. I would much rather have you writing something that you want to.

Comments are closed.