My Semi-Fictional Life #116 (A Review of RESIDENT EVIL 7)

Hello peeps. Here’s a quick review of Resident Evil 7.

Resident Evil 7 is a return to form for the series. While the POV has shifted from a close over-the-shoulder perspective to a first-person camera, the game is still obviously a Resident Evil game. You have your broken shotgun puzzles, animal-themed keys, varying puzzles, herbs for health, strict inventory management, and nasty beasties that might be familiar to fans of the series. Giant eyeballs and all.

After the disaster that was RE6 and the cancellation of Silent Hills, RE7 has filled the void and given me a gaming experience I didn’t realize I was missing. It’s been a long time since a video game scared me. The wait is now over, because RE7 is frightening in all the best ways: atmosphere, dread, and gore.

The ending has a much needed twist that’s been so far missing from the RE series. The game is definitely worth a rental, if nothing else. I have not played it all the way through a second time, but I did unlock some things I would like to try, and there’s free DLC coming this Spring. I’ll likely wait until then to play this again. I probably won’t chime in on whether the game is worth the $60 price tag until then because I managed to beat it in 8 hours and 45 minutes, which is a very short experience for a next-gen game, especially for a first playthrough, in which I thoroughly explored all areas. But, like I said, more stuff is coming, and some of it will be free.

See you tomorrow,

E.

Pic of the Day

16195641_1254243271334633_4949871955359240922_n.jpg

