My Semi-Fictional Life #118 (Ads)

Hello peeps. Today I want to talk about ads. I am such a hater of advertisements that I have only ever once purchased one for my books, and that was to help a friend out. She wanted to start selling ads on her site for five bucks a day through Fiver.com. I paid her five bucks and got an ad in the sidebar of her website for 24 hours. Didn’t do shit for sales, but what’s five bucks between friends?

I understand that ads create revenue for content creators, but it’s gotten out of hand. It’s gotten so bad that sites and publications are now selling space to any-fucking-body. You have movie ads on Goodreads for films that were not books first; nor do these films have novelizations. I’m being shown ads for car parts and women’s underwear on Facebook, two things I’ve never purchased online. (Online he says…) They aren’t even targeting anymore. Marketing teams are just throwing shit at the wall to see what sticks. It’s annoying.

Ads work when they’re aimed at the right people. Which made me wonder exactly how many people buy Facebook ads only for those ads to reach people who couldn’t give a fuck about what they’re seeing. Indie authors are notorious for using Facebook ads. You can’t scroll more than three pages in Facebook without THE BEST NEW THRILLER SINCE BECAUSE OF WINN DIXIE! popping up.

I started this post because of a magazine I recently snagged from the library’s free bin. The rag is called Fast Company, and this particular issue has Lin-Manuel Miranda on the cover. The title of the issue is “100 Most Creative People in Business”. I started flipping through it today and there is an ad on every odd-numbered page. There are double-page ads in here, too, which means there are literally more advertisements than content. The issue is 124 pages long. That’s over 62 ads in a single issue. Do they allow that because it’s the only way to stay in business? I’m guessing that’s the reason. Thing is, I’d never buy an issue because there’s so little content. For fuck’s sake, the magazine is $7.99 an issue. You’re basically paying them to sell you shit.

I can count on two hands how many times in my life I have purchased something because of an ad. But I don’t know. Maybe I’m just overly sensitive to this shit. I even hate seeing junk mail in the mailbox. I feel ads only serve to annoy and distract, but I’d love to know what you guys think. Let me know how you feel about ads in the comment section.

See you tomorrow,

E.

Pic of the Day

clue

tsb-2013-2-page-001

6 thoughts on “My Semi-Fictional Life #118 (Ads)

  1. I feel exactly the same way you do. Once, several years ago, when I was on Facebook, I thought the ads were pretty relevant so I was considering paying for some ads there. Then they started serving ads for a completely different language (like hindi?). So they didn’t get my money. I still haven’t figured out how to market our books properly.

    1. The only semi-reliable ways I’ve seen is Bookbub and NetGalley, but even those don’t work all the time. Publishers I’ve worked with have done specials on my books through those venues, but to lukewarm reactions. But I still don’t consider those places as advertisements in the traditional sense, because people have to go looking for them, or sign up for a newsletter first. I think that’s why they work so well, because people expect them to email them. The unwanted ads are the annoying ones.

      1. Marketing is the main reason I’m submitting to publishers and no longer publishing indie. It takes longer and I make far less, but it’s worth it to broaden my reader base.

Comments are closed.