Ruminating On:

My Semi-Fictional Life #134 (I finished a story today)

Hello peeps. According to some author on the internet, I shouldn’t be writing this post. It would seem that you are not allowed to be excited about finishing a piece, only the publication. Tom Cruise forbid you vaguebook about being excited. Shame on you! Seeing as I have more stuff in cyber prison than published, that would mean I’d only get to be publicly excited… well, once or twice a year. Shit, what a depressing life that would be.

So fuck that author. I’m bursting to get it out, so here it is…

I FINISHED A STORY TODAY!

I wrote the motherfucker longhand, too, which is a feat unto itself. At least for me it is. “Buh-buh-but E. John Irving writes 800 page novels longhand…” Fuck off, Bubble Burster. Lemme have my success, assnuts!

Anyfuck, the story is entitled “There Were Other Versions of Us” and it’s taken me two months to write about 27 pages. Not because I was writing longhand, but because the story is a little twisty-turny. Suffice it to say, the piece is too fucking smart for me to have written it. So I take no credit. Like Stephen King says (paraphrasing), writing is like an archeological dig; the bones are there, you just have to uncover them. He says it much better than that, but I don’t have time to look up the quote. It’s in his book On Writing if you wanna look it up.

So I wrote a really smart piece longhand and finished it. I would say that’s a first all around and worth blogging about.  Usually I give up on the smart stuff. Not because I have no faith in my readers, but because I have little faith in me pulling it off.

Damn it. That cynical asshole author says I shouldn’t be self-deprecating either… I’m fucking horrible at following rules. #eatmyassrandomauthordude

See you tomorrow,

E.

Pic of the Day

16683960_1272231546202472_4358862799245929866_n.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “My Semi-Fictional Life #134 (I finished a story today)

  1. Good for you! You should definitely blog about whatever you want. And finishing a story is what I’d call a good reason to celebrate. Why do people think they have a right to comment on other people’s actions? I believe you Americans have a great saying that goes something like this: “No skin off my back.” I think that’s a good rule to live by. If it doesn’t harm you, why make trouble about it? Just let people do what they want, as long as it doesn’t hurt anyone else.

    1. Authors seem to have a need to give advice, no matter how good, bad, or unneeded that advice is. I’ve even been guilty of it in the past. I’ve since stopped because I finally realized I’m a long way away from knowing everything, but some authors are still stuck on stupid. And I would agree. As long as you’re not hurting anyone, you should be left alone.

Comments are closed.