Ruminating On:

My Semi-Fictional Life #140 (Can you separate the art from the artist?)

Hello peeps. I had a great discussion with my GR friend Karl over separating the art from the artist that morphed into a discussion about social awkwardness and the corruption of fame, among other things. You can read about that in the comment of my GR challenge HERE.

If you’re a Goodreads member, feel free to join in on the conversation there, or comment here on whether or not you can separate the art from the artist. In most cases, I can. If the artist is only an asshole and has not harmed anyone, like a Norman Mailer type, than I can overlook the asshole and enjoy the art. If the artist is a rapist, murderer, or pedophile, enjoying the art is harder to justify, given that supporting the art could in turn support things I feel strongly against.

I would love to hear your thoughts.

See you tomorrow,

E.

Video of the Day

