My Semi-Fictional Life #141 (Help, please?)

Hello peeps. Last time I asked for this kind of help, CRUELTY happened, so please read.

The tally of rejections from publishers for my novel SLASHER LIVE, based on word count alone, has risen this day to seven. I have now completely exhausted all publishing houses accessible to me for this project. I have three more I haven’t heard from, but it’s been over six months since I queried or submitted, so it’s safe to say that I will not be hearing from them. This build of the book is 135,000 words, and seven of eight publishers I’ve submitted to have sent me rejection slips in which they admit they didn’t bother to read the book. “It’s over our cord-count limit,” is what I’m hearing from publishers who tout “We take novels of all sizes”. Only one publisher so far has rejected it based on content, but they did not comment on what aspect of the book drove their decision.

So I have three options:

  1. Shelve the project and move on.
  2. Serialize the novel, like I did with CRUELTY, in order to finance the editing, because a book this size costs thousands.
  3. Start a crowd-funding campaign for the book.

Honestly, I don’t like any of these options.

Shelving a book this long would hurt my heart, as I’m sure anyone can understand. I’ve pumped a year of my life into this book, and to date, it’s the only book or story I’ve enjoyed of mine that I haven’t been able to find a home for. I don’t think the book is shit, and I’ve always been a semi-decent judge of my output. In fact, in my opinion, this is one of the best books I’ve written. Had the majority of publishers rejected the book for content, this would be an easy decision. Into a trunk it would be flung and I’d move on with my life.

Next, serializing any big project is a fucking headache. You think waiting on CRUELTY was a pain in the ass? Imagine having to chop up a 150,ooo word novel, have each part edited separately, create covers and formatting for ten episodes, and then also work on the omnibuses and audiobooks. Yeah. It sucked. Worth it after the fact, but still a gargantuan pain in the ass. But I’m willing to do suck it up and do it, that is, if enough people are willing to buy the installments. Because if the installments don’t sell, I don’t have the funds to edit the next part or the part after that or the part after that, and so on.

Thirdly, even though the IndieGoGo campaign for CRUELTY was a success, it was a bitch trying to fill all of the perks. I had issues with an artist I worked with (not Linton Bowers, he was amazing, but other drama behind the scenes), and numerous other headaches. Also, it can be unbearably depressing and embarrassing to seek funding for a project and see it fail, as there’s no guarantee that anyone will give much of a shit for something they have yet to read.

Finally, if any of you have a line on a publisher who publishes ventures of 135-150k words (because the novel might grow while I sit on it… that’s been known to happen anyway), lemme know and I’ll submit. If not, I fear this one’s going in a drawer.

At the end of the day, I work for you, the readers, so please go here and vote:

https://www.poll-maker.com/poll990110xB0494A55-41

Or comment wherever this post might find you and I’ll add you to the poll.

See you tomorrow,

E.

Pic of the Day

Help Support Advice Assistance and Guidance on a signpost

14 thoughts on “My Semi-Fictional Life #141 (Help, please?)

    1. Yeah, I can’t stand serials either. Only one I ever liked was King’s THE GREEN MILE. That being said, people voted for the serialization of CRUELTY, which shocked me. That’s when I learned, it’s not about what I want, but what the readers want that matters the most. And FAIRY LIGHTS wasn’t my decision. You pay me enough, I’m bound to agree to anything… anything moral and legal anyway 😉

      Thanks for voting, Bill.

  1. H Casper

    Have tyou tried Thunderstorm Books? thunderstormbooks@gmail.com

    Take care – H

    “Fear is not real. The only place that fear can exist is in our thoughts of the future. It is a product of thoughts you create, causing us to fear things that do not at present and may not ever exist. That is near insanity. Do not misunderstand me. Danger is very real. But fear is a choice.”

    Will Smith (After Earth)

    >

    1. Yes, but the editing will cost thousands. As it stands right now, I wouldn’t be able to afford it all at once. I could afford maybe 50K words worth of editing and then hope selling it as a serial would pay for the rest of the editing.

Comments are closed.