My Semi-Fictional Life #157 (Some Thoughts on FOG WARNING)

Hello peeps. Personally, one of my favorite reads out of the books I’ve written is FOG WARNING. I was able to do so much in that story in such a small amount of time, as well as give a glimpse into the mind of an addict addicted to pain medicine. We (humans) are not defined by the substances we consume but the way we treat our fellow human beings. Sometimes, those who we perceive to be the worst of us can prove their worth. They only need the right set of circumstances. Dr. Brent Cummings, for me, was that guy. A dude with a bad past and a horrible present trying to do something with one of many possible futures. It is one of my most personal pieces.

When the book was first released, I’ll admit, it didn’t do sell well. The reviews were great, but the sales were lackluster. Several reasons behind this, but one of the simplest ones is that some readers wrote the book off as another doctor-addicted-to-pain-pills story, ala House and Grey’s Anatomy. It is so much more, and I wish more people would give it a chance. That being said, there’s a special edition coming that I feel will give the book a second life.

In the meantime, if you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it. I truly feel it’s one of my best works. Especially give it a read if you plan to read THE SOUND OF BROKEN RIBS this summer. The books, while not sequels or continuations of each other, follow some of the same characters and are both set in my fictional town of Bay’s End. And that’s all I’ll say about that.

See you later,

E.

